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Why CRO is important

IF IT AIN'T BROKE, DON'T FIX IT!!!

Bert Lance

 

This is an excellent expression to live by if we are talking about your toaster.

But if you are talking about your website - it's like telling the Ferrari F1 team to stop innovating and trying to beat their competition just because the engine still turns on.

If you are not continually optimising your Conversion Rate and other Key Metrics performance, you WILL fall behind your competitors and, possibly worse, go out of business.

We often encounter business owners who have set up and built their websites only to neglect them—operating under the assumption that their hard work in getting their store built was enough to let them focus on marketing and advertising to drive traffic to their store.

This is a big mistake, by not focussing on CRO you are neglecting your biggest asset and marketing tool.

So what is Conversion Rate Optimisation (CRO)?

CRO means conversion rate optimisation, which means optimising/increasing the percentage of users who purchase (convert) on your website

However, the name itself and the process mentioned above are a bit misleading. Conversion Rate (CR) is only one of the metrics you are looking to optimize when we talk about CRO.

When conducting CRO on a website, you are also focussing on the following metrics in addition to CR:

Ultimately, when we talk about CRO a better term for it would be, Website Performance Optimisation.

Why is CRO important?

CRO lowers Customer Acquisition Costs (CAC)

Keeping everything else constant by converting more visitors into buyers reduces your cost to acquire a new customer.

Historically, if you had a 3% conversion rate and it cost you $150 to drive 100 visitors to your website, your CAC would be $50.

If you increase your conversion rate by just 10%, your conversion rate would increase to 3.3% and keeping your cost of 100 visitors at $150; your new CAC would be $45.45.

CRO increases Profit margins

Similarly to the point above by decreasing your CAC, you essentially put that saving directly into your pocket as increased profit.

CRO improves Customer Satisfaction

By improving/optimizing your store, you are making it more user-friendly and taking out any frustrations or friction in the buying process.

This in turn, will lead to a higher level of customer satisfaction as you haven't wasted your customers time.

What is the CRO process?

Most people would have their own process for identifying and solving conversion issues; ours is the following:

  1. Audit and Analyse data of current setup
  2. Implement any quick wins
  3. Implement best practices
  4. Analyse user data on new designs
  5. Iterate based on user data
  6. A/B test assumptions and alternative options
  7. Introduce new features and functionality
  8. A/B test new features and functionality

How Blend can help

At Blend Commerce, we understand that optimising your Shopify store goes beyond just fixing what's broken—it's about continually enhancing your store's performance to drive sustainable growth. Our team of UI & UX designers, Front & Backend developers, CRO Consultants, Growth Marketers, and Strategy Consultants are here to support you every step of the way. With a company culture centred on continuous learning and staying ahead in the ever-evolving Shopify environment, we bring a fresh perspective to each client’s needs.

Our tailored service include:

CRO Audits

Our audits dive deep into your store’s current setup, analyzing data to identify opportunities for quick wins and uncovering barriers that may be limiting conversions. This is often the perfect starting point for businesses looking to make impactful changes.

CRO Program

Once we’ve identified key areas for improvement, our CRO Program provides an ongoing, data-driven approach to implementing best practices, testing new designs, and iterating based on real user data. With 20-30 hours of implementation time each month, we ensure that your store continuously evolves to keep up with changing customer behaviours and industry trends.

CRO Plus Program

For brands looking to take their optimisation efforts further, our CRO Plus Program integrates Conversion Rate Optimisation with Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) and Customer Value Optimisation (CVO) strategies. By focusing on both converting your traffic as well as retaining your existing customers, this program is designed to deliver sustained growth over time, with a personalised approach to optimising key performance metrics like AOV, repeat purchase rate, and more.

Whether you're just getting started with conversion rate optimisation or you're ready to take your strategy to the next level, Blend Commerce is here to help you achieve your goals. Ready to see what's possible? Click here to start the conversation.

About the author

Peter Gardner

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